甘比塔廣場
2016 ongoing, Bordeaux, France

甘比塔廣場將是波爾多市中心的象徵性空間。West 8的獲勝設計恢復了十八世紀歷史性建築外立面和英國庭園風景如畫的景觀之間的對話。在波爾多沒有地方是建築和庭園風景之間的對話如此強烈。

今天,寬闊的道路和繁忙的交通壓倒了甘比塔廣場的原來概念。花園已成為一個被周邊空間孤立的孤島,周圍有不斷的交通流動,卻沒有人為動線的互動。West 8的設計建議支持兩個節奏,快速的交通和周邊活動的速度和花園的慢節奏。為了實現這種平衡,交通將被轉向西部,以允許廣場的東半部的行人專用區,將行人規模恢復到甘比塔廣場。

石材是項目的主要材料,它突出了廣場的身份、外牆和加強公園的輪廓。甘比塔廣場內的公園是基於英格蘭廣場的類型。它的特色為遵循花園的輪廓的石造人行道從各個入口到花園中心的大草坪形成連接環路的路徑。一個斑駁的樹冠樹木花園作為緩衝交通噪聲,特別是與歷史建築物立面豐富視覺視線。

在花園的心臟,有各種各樣的樹種,新設計中一個新的噴泉使Eleonore D'aquitaine像一個在公園裡的寶石,將成為自然的匯合點。

裝修工程計劃於2018年開始,公園預計於2020年竣工。

委托方
Bordeaux Métropole, la Ville de Bordeaux  
合作隊伍
Sabine Haristoy, Cetab    
顧問
Adema, Les Éclaireurs
團隊
Maarten van de Voorde, Giulia Frittoli, Josh Stevenson, Julien Chapel, Marine Manchon, Perry Maas, Sido Cherel

Place Gambetta
2016 ongoing, Bordeaux, France

Place Gambetta will be an emblematic space in the center of Bordeaux. West 8’s winning proposal restores the dialogue between the historic eighteenth century facades and the picturesque landscape of the English garden. Nowhere in Bordeaux is the dialogue between architecture and nature so strong.

Today,wide roads and heavy traffic overwhelm the subtle narrative of Place Gambetta. The garden has become an island adrift from the walls, surrounded by a constant stream of traffic. West 8’s design proposal supports two tempos, the rapid pace of traffic and activity on the periphery and the slower pace of the garden. To achieve this balance, traffic will be diverted to the west to allow the pedestrianization of the eastern half of the square, restoring the pedestrian scale to Place Gambetta.

Limestone is the dominant material of the project, it highlights the square’s identity, facades and defines the outline of the garden. The Garden within Place Gambetta is based on the typology of English squares. Its features stone pathways the follow the contours of the garden. The paths form a connecting loop from various entrances, to the large lawn at the center of the garden. A dappled canopy of trees frame the garden, acting as a buffer against traffic noise, and enriching visual sightlines particularly in relation to the historic façades.

At the heart of the garden, amongst a wide range of tree species, a new fountain dedicated to Eleonore D'aquitaine, acts like a jewel with in the park, and will become the natural meeting point.

Renovation works are scheduled to begin in 2018 with the park slated for completion in 2020.

client
Bordeaux Métropole, la Ville de Bordeaux  
partners
Sabine Haristoy, Cetab    
consultants
Adema, Les Éclaireurs
team
Maarten van de Voorde, Giulia Frittoli, Josh Stevenson, Julien Chapel, Marine Manchon, Perry Maas, Sido Cherel