美國土爾沙(Tulsa)濱水岸
2011 competition entry, Tulsa, USA

West 8 擔當起喬治凱撒家庭基金會的使命做為設計案---打破貧窮的惡性循環,通過投資在兒童早期教育,社區衛生,社會服務及市民增強。
 West 8 明白,為一個慈善組織的主要工作是跟位於土爾沙(Tulsa)的服務機構合作在河濱公園初步發展,展示偉大土爾沙區域的經濟重要性和社區力量。


濱水公園的設計目地是提供一個補充現有環境品質和一個紀念性的濱水公園。該公園是地方的集體願望場所,融合不同社會背景人們的空間。它應是城市最顯著的綠帶空間和社會的大熔爐,和做於社會上或環境上的景觀銜接功能。


該項目場地將被縫合到該地區最大的公園和休閒目的地 – 河公園系統,其中包括26英里的小徑沿著土爾沙的阿肯色河(此區裡有額外100英里路徑),提供給行人和自行車騎士,以及遊憩活動,如釣魚、划船、划皮艇,並進入土耳其山上超過15英里的泥徑。


在公園本身,去適應一個策略接受和擁抱洪水水位而不是與洪水奮戰,公園的生態表現性和體驗品質被深刻地增強。這種方法產生的公園,是以一種全新的方式表達其季節性。實現自然的可讀性提供生態教育和鼓勵一個對水資源管理的健全尊重。


藉由強調既有的自行車系統中央主道,從城外的姐妹公園(sister park)的直接路徑、一致性的自行車網絡、和城市對阿肯色河水岸關係,可大大提升及創造一個紀念性的公共空間網絡。土爾沙的「日落自行車道」將建立一個有獨特和難忘文化身分的路徑,他的水岸終點自然地挑起想像力和刺激浪漫的幻想。

委托方
George Kaiser Family Foundation
合作隊伍
WXY Architecture, eDesign Dynamics (ecology and hydrology), HR+A (real estate and economic strategy), Walter P. Moore (civil and traffic), Buro Happold (engineering)
團隊
Adriaan Geuze, Matthew Skjonsberg, Harrie van Oorschot, Joris Weijts, Juan Figueroa Calero, Laura van Santen, Pieter Hoen, Tanyi Huang, Xiaoxuan Lu, Zhongwei Li

Tulsa Riverfront
2011 competition entry, Tulsa, USA

George Kaiser Family Foundation's mission to break the cycle of poverty through investments in early childhood education, community health, social servicesand civic enhancement is a mission that West 8 has taken as their own for the purpose of this design proposal.

West 8 understands that as a charitable organization working primarily on initiatives developed in collaboration with Tulsa-based direct service organizations, this riverfront park illustrates the importance of the economic and community strength to the greater Tulsa region.

The aim of the design of the waterfront park is to provide a park that complements the qualities of the existing context and provides the city of Tulsa with a monumental waterfront park. The park is to be a place for collective aspirations, a place where people of different social backgrounds can meet. It should be the most significant green space in the city and its social melting pot, and function as a landscape of convergence - socially and environmentally.

The project site will be stitched into to the region's premier park and recreation destination - the River Parks system, which consists of 26 miles of trails along the Arkansas River in Tulsa (with an additional 100 miles of trails in the region) offering trails for pedestrians and cyclists, as well as recreational activities such as fishing, rowing, kayaking, and access to more than 15 miles of dirt trails on Turkey Mountain.

Within the park itself, by adopting a strategy that accepts and embraces flood levels, rather than fighting them, the ecological performance and experiential qualities of the park are profoundly enhanced. Such an approach yields a park that is expressive of seasonality in an entirely new way - enabling a reading of nature that provides ecological education and encourages a healthy respect for water management.

By emphasizing a great spine at the center of the existing bicycle network, a direct route from sister parks within and outside the city, the coherence of the overall bicycle network and the city's relation to the Arkansas Riverfront can be greatly enhanced – creating a monumental public space network. Tulsa's 'Sunset Bike Highway' would establish a route with a distinct and memorable cultural identity, its waterfront destination naturally provoking the imagination and stimulating romantic illusions.

client
George Kaiser Family Foundation
partners
WXY Architecture, eDesign Dynamics (ecology and hydrology), HR+A (real estate and economic strategy), Walter P. Moore (civil and traffic), Buro Happold (engineering)
team
Adriaan Geuze, Matthew Skjonsberg, Harrie van Oorschot, Joris Weijts, Juan Figueroa Calero, Laura van Santen, Pieter Hoen, Tanyi Huang, Xiaoxuan Lu, Zhongwei Li